Sweden-Covid-19: The entry of travelers into the country with a mandatory negative test and for the vaccinated


Sweden today announced restrictive measures for travelers from other European Union countries to enter its territory. From December 28, all visitors must have a negative test for Covid-19, even if they have been vaccinated.

Seven other EU countries, including Greece (the rest are Portugal, Ireland, Cyprus, Latvia, Italy and Austria) already require a negative test for travelers from EU countries. Finland announced on Tuesday that it would follow their example while the Danish government intends to do the same, having previously obtained the approval of parliament, as it became known today.

“All visitors must take a negative test for Covid-19 upon arrival in Sweden, whichever country they come from,” the Swedish government said. “This measure applies even to those who have been vaccinated or recovered from Covid-19,” Stockholm said.

Danish Health Minister Magnus Hoinike said those who did not comply with the new measure could be fined. Danish citizens will have 24 hours to take the test upon arrival in the country.

In Sweden, the measure does not apply to children under the age of 12 and to Swedish citizens or residents. The decision was made “due to the increased presence of Covid-19 in the world and the spread of the Omicron variant,” the government said.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.