Albania and Northern Macedonia in the list of safe third countries


THE Albania and Northern Macedonia are added to the list of safe third countries for applicants for international protection entering Greece from its borders with the above two countries, according to a joint ministerial decision of the Deputy Foreign Minister, Miltiadis Varvitsiotis and the Minister of Immigration and Asylum, Notis Mitarakis.

Also, as pointed out in the same JMC, Turkey remains a safe third country for asylum seekers from five countries of origin: Syria, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Somalia.

According to an announcement by the Ministry of Immigration and Asylum, a forced flight of 19 Bangladeshis to their country took place today on a charter flight, as part of bilateral cooperation.

According to the announcement, it is the first forced deportation that has taken place since 2016 to Bangladesh, thanks to the joint efforts of the Greek and Austrian governments. The operation took place under the coordination of Frontex.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.